Apply for Membership
Don't forget to vote!
Donate

Donate

Recent Donations
UnicOtter
€6.50 EUR
9 hours ago
[TWC] Raft
£5.00 GBP
2 days ago
[TWC] Condoxy
£3.30 GBP
3 days ago
[TWC] Condoxy
£5.55 GBP
15th Oct
[TWC] Aleyboy
£30.00 GBP
14th Oct
Next »
Events
Online Members
[TWC] jayman
Online now

[TWC] Rik
15 minutes ago

[TWC] Bosenator
45 minutes ago

[TWC] Tread
46 minutes ago

[TWC] Declan
54 minutes ago
Online Guests: 19
Time Zones

UK BST

20:24:57

US EST Time

15:24:57

UTC

21:24:57

Catastrophic PC failure
Forum » Information and Rules » Technical Difficulties and Solutions
Joined: 4th Aug 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 745
3rd Jul 2016

Precursor - can we please disable to auto text replacement for the tech support forums (unicroning and such shit, it's seriously fucking distracting)

Hi all, it looks like I'm coning to the end of my manic couple of months so I should be able to get back to ops in the next couple of weeks provided I can get this problem fixed. 

My rig (custom build - approx 4 years old):
Mobo: Asus P8Z77
CPU - Intel i5 3570k
RAM - 16GB Corsair Vengeance
GPU - Asus nVidia GTX 660Ti
PSU - 600w Corsair CX series 80+ bronze
OS - Genuine W10 pro upgraded from Win 7 (Unable to revert back to Win 7, past the 3 month grace period)

The issue:
After I moved house I hooked my PC up and got it to work ok, was able to run things as normal for a couple of nights, and one night it just flashes a black screen. These black flashes become more and more frequent until the PC is completely unusable. I rebooted the computer and the BIOS screen works fine, no flashing, but when I get back to the Win 10 log in screen, the screen will either continue to flash if the PC hasn't been on for a while, or flash once with the picture and then hold on a black screen. It has now got to the point where even the BIOS screen is not even holding a steady picture and continues flashing. 

Fixes I have tried:
1. Running updates for windows and updating drivers - No fix
2. Disabling the 'Problem reports and solution control panel support' and 'Windows error report service' options from the msconfig menu - No fix
3. Swapping out my monitor for a TV (both with HDMI ports) - no fix, the screen still flashes)
4. Swapping out the HDMI port on the graphics card for the HDMI port on the motherboard - no fix
5. Removing the graphics card and running solely from the HDMI port from the MoBo - no fix
6. Performing a 'startup problem fix' from the windows boot menu (where the PC says diagnosing startup, etc.) - no fix
7. Performing a system restore from the windows boot menu - No fix
8. Performing a complete system re-set (reinstalling windows 10 whilst keeping my files) - No fix
9. Removing (and replacing) the CMOS battery and booting again - no fix

I can't boot into safe mode because I don't have a USB to PS/2 adaptor for my keyboard and it's unresponsive when I get to that point. 

I've been working on this for a good 4 days now and I can't work out for the life of me what the problem is. I'm willing to try a few more fixes before I take it to a repair shop, so if you have any ideas or questions about things - ask away. If needs be, I can get on Skype to show whoever what is happening if needs be. 

Cheers guys, you're usually pretty good with these kinds of things, let's keep our community record going please!

Tom


Dewch ymlaen, ddim ond y gorau ydy dda ddigon.

Bringing the pain since 2013!
First official recipient of the TWC Distinguished Flying Cross

"Knows his stuff in general, a really sexy voice. Everything you need from an IC." TheLocalPub: 2017

Joined: 20th Jan 2013
Rank: Management
Likes 1733
3rd Jul 2016

Have you tried using a different input source for your monitor, to rule that out? (or the PC on a different screen) It sounds like a capacitor is failing to hold charge on your screen.


"Jokes on them, I was only pretending to be retarded."



"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censured... the first thought forbidden... the first freedom denied – chains us all irrevocably."

Last Edit: 3rd Jul 2016 by Bosenator
Joined: 4th Aug 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 745
3rd Jul 2016

I've tried hooking up the PC to my TV which has HDMI inputs. it displays for a bit but it still drops to a black screen even on that. Fix no. 4 that was. Cheers for the thought though.


Dewch ymlaen, ddim ond y gorau ydy dda ddigon.

Bringing the pain since 2013!
First official recipient of the TWC Distinguished Flying Cross

"Knows his stuff in general, a really sexy voice. Everything you need from an IC." TheLocalPub: 2017

Joined: 20th Jan 2013
Rank: Management
Likes 1733
3rd Jul 2016

I dident reed 2 gud.


"Jokes on them, I was only pretending to be retarded."



"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censured... the first thought forbidden... the first freedom denied – chains us all irrevocably."

Joined: 10th Mar 2015
Rank: Inactive Member
Likes 491
3rd Jul 2016

Given that this started happening after you moved, have you checked that everything is still fitted correctly? I.e. Nothing has become loose in transit.
Joined: 4th Aug 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 745
3rd Jul 2016

I thought that as well but I've gone through all of the connections both to the monitor and inside the computer itself, everything is fine. It was working for a few nights when I first got in so I didn't think that was the cause anyway. Cheers though. 


Dewch ymlaen, ddim ond y gorau ydy dda ddigon.

Bringing the pain since 2013!
First official recipient of the TWC Distinguished Flying Cross

"Knows his stuff in general, a really sexy voice. Everything you need from an IC." TheLocalPub: 2017

Joined: 3rd Oct 2015
Rank: Public Player
Likes 89
3rd Jul 2016

Unfit and refit everything especially your graphics card, It could be semi attached.
Also do you have a default chipset on like intel? Can you try running your PC for a while with it and see if flashes continue this way we know if its your GC or if its not your GC.

It is not your Rams or HDD / SSDs those would just slow and lag you but not fuck up your display.
So What could be is your PSU, GPU or MoBo.


Pro Aris et Focis.
Si vis pacem, para bellum!

Joined: 4th Aug 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 745
3rd Jul 2016

Everything has been removed and re-installed, all connections checked and double checked, still nothing. Once again, I've tried running it straight from the HDMI socket on the motherboard both with and without the graphics card installed, I'm still getting the same issue.

I'm beginning to think there could be an issue with the motherboard (something might have knocked itself loose on it or some dust has shorted out a circuit somewhere), but I'm still open to ideas.


Dewch ymlaen, ddim ond y gorau ydy dda ddigon.

Bringing the pain since 2013!
First official recipient of the TWC Distinguished Flying Cross

"Knows his stuff in general, a really sexy voice. Everything you need from an IC." TheLocalPub: 2017

Joined: 23rd Feb 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 594
3rd Jul 2016

Joined: 4th Aug 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 745
3rd Jul 2016

Nope, no dice


Dewch ymlaen, ddim ond y gorau ydy dda ddigon.

Bringing the pain since 2013!
First official recipient of the TWC Distinguished Flying Cross

"Knows his stuff in general, a really sexy voice. Everything you need from an IC." TheLocalPub: 2017

Joined: 21st Jan 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 446
4th Jul 2016

Have you tried:
cleaning all the dust, maybe its some sort of overheating artifact?
Resitting the RAM in different sockets
Only using one stick of ram and alternating (ive had no end of RAM related issues that have been fixed by moving sockets...)
Resitting the CPU with thermal paste etc.

If your above items and the items suggested dont fix it... im stumped.

On the plus side new GFX cards have just released so its a good time to upgrade?
Last Edit: 4th Jul 2016 by Phill
Joined: 4th Aug 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 745
4th Jul 2016

Cheers Phill, I've cleaned it out with an air duster when I first moved in and it was working from that (I try and make a point of keeping it clean as it is anyway), but I've not tried the RAM fixes yet. I doubt they'd be the issue but I'll give them a try when I get some more time; same with the thermal paste as well.

I'd love to get myself a new graphics card but I'm seriously strapped for cash now, I'm living by myself now so i'm paying all my bills and rent, plus I've got my overdraft and credit card to pay off now as it is, I'd prefer to keep my expenditure as far down as possible really

Unless I set up a justgiving page and you all chip in for me


Dewch ymlaen, ddim ond y gorau ydy dda ddigon.

Bringing the pain since 2013!
First official recipient of the TWC Distinguished Flying Cross

"Knows his stuff in general, a really sexy voice. Everything you need from an IC." TheLocalPub: 2017

Joined: 3rd Oct 2015
Rank: Public Player
Likes 89
4th Jul 2016

Ok now that the GC is off the table and you have cleaned it from dust (i assume)... Try and look at your motherboards capacitors. See if any of the capacitors has leaked what looks like this https://37prime.files.wor ... _capacitors_1080.jpg
or even inflated upwards
http://electronics-diy.co ... g-power-supply-3.jpg

They could also be leaking from below so pay attention to that too.
This will also help us understand if it's a power leak / surge from the motherboard or if there is an overheating problem.

If motherboard is clean i would start looking into all the plugs and then start worrying about my PSU, I am out of ideas after this point.


Pro Aris et Focis.
Si vis pacem, para bellum!

Joined: 4th Oct 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 1022
5th Jul 2016

yo roberto just reach into them DEEP pockets of yours and buy a new rig bro lol or just take it to ya local pc shop man ...i mean prob woulda taken them 4 days and ya prob have a working pc rite now


Signature Picture

"magical realism is defined as what happens when a highly detailed, realistic setting is invaded by something too strange to believe"

"doing the average thing - will get you the average results"

"its turns out that common sence - isnt that common"

Last Edit: 5th Jul 2016 by JEFRO
Joined: 3rd Oct 2015
Rank: Public Player
Likes 89
5th Jul 2016

what Jefro said i think at this point is your best option especially the second.


Pro Aris et Focis.
Si vis pacem, para bellum!

Joined: 4th Aug 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 745
6th Jul 2016

Righty then lads, I've decided to just bite the bullet on this now (partly because I'm more frustrated with it at the minute but I've got loads of work to do too) and called up a PC repair shop here in Cardiff, I'm going to drop it off there tonight, give them a run down of all of the fixes I've tried, show them the issue and see if they can diagnose it for me. The lad I spoke to pretty much reaffirmed my fears that something's burned out (AMOK, I think you might have hit this one on the money with the transistors, I'll let you know!) and it sounds like something is going to need replacing. It's not likely to be the graphics card but it could either be the motherboard or the PSU, both of which are going to be a little pricey.

On that note then, it could take some time for me to get back to my less than usual public appearance schedule, so keep me in your thoughts (#PrayForRoberts), don't go blowing up too much stuff without me and I'll be back with you all soon. Plus, it'll be the summer holidays soon as well so that's a bonus if this gets fixed

Catch y'all on the flippety flop yo.


Dewch ymlaen, ddim ond y gorau ydy dda ddigon.

Bringing the pain since 2013!
First official recipient of the TWC Distinguished Flying Cross

"Knows his stuff in general, a really sexy voice. Everything you need from an IC." TheLocalPub: 2017

Joined: 24th Jan 2015
Rank: Member
Likes 1328
6th Jul 2016

Don't worry Robets, I'll make sure to raise some awareness of this issue
#PrayforRoberts


Snowball: "That was a textbook assault"
Cal: "What textbook are you fucking reading?"

"Will, you need to be more flexible especially when things start getting hard." - Jayman

Joined: 3rd Oct 2015
Rank: Public Player
Likes 89
7th Jul 2016

Hope you're lucky and nothing else was damaged due to overvoltage because after capacitors blow they start to damage other components on the device due to extra heat or power surges, Capacitors are easy for a tech guy to replace and they do not cost much (a couple EU here) just need the right size or to even order ones from the manufacturer of your mobo.

ps: Its no random event if its capacitors, If they blew up you either have a power leak or overheating problem (or both) some companies use really bad quality capacitors.


Pro Aris et Focis.
Si vis pacem, para bellum!

Last Edit: 7th Jul 2016 by Amok
Joined: 4th Aug 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 745
7th Jul 2016

I've had a call back from the shop I took it to but I can't call them back yet cos I'm in class but I'm hoping because they've got back to me quickly it's going to be good news. I'll keep you posted.
#PrayForRoberts


Dewch ymlaen, ddim ond y gorau ydy dda ddigon.

Bringing the pain since 2013!
First official recipient of the TWC Distinguished Flying Cross

"Knows his stuff in general, a really sexy voice. Everything you need from an IC." TheLocalPub: 2017

Joined: 11th Dec 2013
Rank: Member
Likes 540
7th Jul 2016

Don't worry Jayman will steal cash from the TWC server fund and via illegal means including air transport from Bolivia, 10 refugees from Syria and trough a goat get the money to you.

#PrayForRoberts
Forum » Information and Rules » Technical Difficulties and Solutions
Please login or register to reply.
Chat Box
Proton 20:10
Coming on!
[TWC] Declan 20:09
Public anyone?
[TWC] Alex Macca 17:04
whos down for public
[TWC] zurxo 14:24
You need to water and fertilize it more @JEFRO
JEFRO 12:16
i still got 9 toes ...it aint grew back yet
UnicOtter 11:56
is there no midweek mission today ?
Hassan Balkani 22nd Oct
Thanks for letting me know
[TWC] Alex Macca 22nd Oct
no thats just if you want to play the operations
Hassan Balkani 22nd Oct
Hey,do I need to sign up to play on the Public modded server ?
[TWC] Hobbs 22nd Oct
yup
[TWC] Alex Macca 22nd Oct
whos down for public?
[TWC] Dazzort 22nd Oct
#Vote
[TWC] Alex Macca 21st Oct
PUBLI GUYS
[TWC] Declan 21st Oct
Anyone for Public?
[TWC] Alex Macca 21st Oct
some people are on public now if u wanna join hop on
Proton 21st Oct
Afternoon. Happy to be here.
[TWC] Aleyboy 21st Oct
Ill be on public later
[TWC] Alex Macca 21st Oct
anyone down for public?
[TWC] Alex Macca 21st Oct
remember to vote
[TWC] Alex Macca 21st Oct
anyone up for a quick public session
Countdown
Operation WRIGLEY
3 Days, 21 Hours, 55 Minutes and 3 Seconds
Roster
Newest Players
Hassan Balkani
1 day ago

DaleyH
1 day ago

GilsonPurple
2 days ago

Proton
2 days ago

omen
3 days ago