Apply for Membership
Don't forget to vote!
Donate

Donate

Recent Donations
[TWC] Raft
£5.00 GBP
1 day ago
[TWC] Vieira
€1.00 EUR
7th Feb
[TWC] zurxo
kr13.37 SEK
4th Feb
[TWC] Saxon
€2.86 EUR
4th Feb
[TWC] Saxon
€0.63 EUR
2nd Feb
Next »
Events
Online Members
[TWC] Aleyboy
Online now

[TWC] Hobbs
Online now

[TWC] Patty Evans
Online now
Online Guests: 9
Time Zones

UK

10:43:31

US EST Time

06:43:31

UTC

11:43:31

FPS Drops in Arma 3
Forum » Information and Rules » Technical Difficulties and Solutions
Joined: 21st Jul 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 2
21st Jul 2016

Specs
i5 6600k Oc to 4.4Ghz (CPU)
R9 280x (GPU)
Gigabyte z170x Gaming 6 (motherboard)
16 GB DDR4 at 2133mhz  (ram)
2tb hard drive + 1tb hard drive for storage
Windows 10

I'm pretty sure that I am not the only one that has this problem, and that this is probably a pointless post as its simply just a problem with Arma 3 engine, but oh well its worth at least asking. 

My main problem is that while playing Arma 3 my fps can go anywhere from 90 down to 24, just because of looking in a different direction, no matter my settings or launch perimeters.  It is also not a cpu/gpu bottleneck as my cpu usage peaks at about 70% on rare occasion and is usally just around 40%-60%, while my gpu never reaches 90% and can drop as low as 20%.

Here is a video I made showing the problem:


So does anyone have any ideas on what I could do to possibly fix this? Or is it just something I'm stuck with because Arma engine is Arma engine.

-Thanks, Zack

P.S. Sorry to bother everyone with my petty problems.

Last Edit: 21st Jul 2016 by Zeus
Joined: 23rd Feb 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 594
21st Jul 2016

Joined: 21st Jul 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 2
21st Jul 2016

Oh god I am a tool. Should be fixed now
Joined: 23rd Feb 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 594
21st Jul 2016

I think thats just arma for you, its rendering more stuff so your FPS is obviously gonna drop. Not too sure why your system doesn't try harder tho
Joined: 21st Jul 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 2
21st Jul 2016

Yeah, I would have no problem if that was my fps because my cpu/gpu was being maxed out, but since neither of them are being maxed out, its just kinda annoying that my fps sometimes drops so low. Oh well at least its still above 30fps the majority of the time.
Joined: 21st Jan 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 446
21st Jul 2016

I dare say this is simply ARMA? I have experienced the same performance mysteries, with my rig being in about the same league as yours.

In your video it seems linked to how FAR you can see? Dropping view distance may help if you value frames higher than distance?
Joined: 23rd Feb 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 594
21st Jul 2016

Depending upon how much you like trees you could turn off ATOC as well, that may help
Joined: 21st Jul 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 2
21st Jul 2016

Thanks for the tips guys, I will try them out and see if they make a difference.

EDIT: After doing some testing, in singleplayer/editor on the same map at that same location, the game has no problem maxing out my GPU and I get 90fps+ looking at the area (the same area in the video where I drop down to 30fps). Turning Atoc off and lowering the view distance just gained a couple fps and isn't worth the visual degrade. I guess it's just down to it being multiplayer (due to scripts, the engine and whatnot), as no matter what i do the fps does not increase in multiplayer.
Last Edit: 21st Jul 2016 by Zeus
Joined: 4th Mar 2016
Rank: Public Player
Likes 42
22nd Jul 2016

Welcome to Arma. And if that's Zargabad then you probably couldn't have chosen a worse(r) map for testing your FPS. Zargabad consists of a FPS blackhole, no one has ever survived its wrath. Forget about it, your PC is fine.
Joined: 26th Jun 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 29
22nd Jul 2016

Documents->ArmA 3->ArmA3.cfg
Open ArmA3.cfg using notepad and change these values.
GPU_MaxFramesAhead=1;
GPU_DetectedFramesAhead=1;
It will make the game smoother. Thank me later.


Have to try and you won't have to fail,
If you're afraid to fly then i guess you never will,
You hide behind your walls of maybe nevers,
Forgetting that there's something more than just knowing better,
Your mistakes do not define you now they tell you who you're not,
You've got to live this life you're given like it's the only one you've got,

Last Edit: 22nd Jul 2016 by K. "Gh0$t" Argarey
Forum » Information and Rules » Technical Difficulties and Solutions
Please login or register to reply.
Chat Box
[TWC] Chaza 16th Feb
And get signing up for the op!
[TWC] Mc_Jazza 16th Feb
Get voting people! We're down in 4th
[TWC] Theo Papas 15th Feb
public is on (: come say hi!
[TWC] Vieira 15th Feb
fridays on public hahaha
[TWC] Harry 15th Feb
im down
[TWC] Hobbs 15th Feb
friday night pub at 7
[TWC] Hobbs 14th Feb
pub time
[TWC] Aleyboy 13th Feb
same
[TWC] Hobbs 13th Feb
sure, I'll be on around 7
[TWC] Lemon_Pizza 13th Feb
i reckon
[TWC] Condoxy 13th Feb
public tonight?
[TWC] Vieira 13th Feb
Hello there: https://imgur.com/a/vqI1Q
[TWC] Fro 13th Feb
The radar still spins, its spinning....
[TWC] Bosenator 13th Feb
> Building protected by an EMP Shield (Electro Magnetic Pulse)
[TWC] Fro 13th Feb
New TWC HQ
[TWC] Harry 12th Feb
=when air superiority is needed typhoons wont be going up with 10000lbs of Bombs
[TWC] Harry 12th Feb
the tornado is an outdated airframe and using the typhoon for multirole does in no way hinder it as an airsuperioirty fighter
[TWC] Harry 12th Feb
Or chaza...
[TWC] jayman 12th Feb
Except the F35 is actually better at everything chaza
Countdown
Operation PERACTIC
0 Days, 0 Hours, 0 Minutes and 0 Seconds
Roster
Newest Players
A. Karlsen
1 hour ago

LightGames
14 hours ago

Solaire
2 days ago

Synzz
6th Feb

Syncmaster667
1st Feb