Apply for Membership
Don't forget to vote!
Donate

Donate

Recent Donations
Joery
€5.00 EUR
11th Nov
[TWC] Fro
€5.00 EUR
3rd Nov
[TWC] Patty Evans
€2.00 EUR
25th Oct
[TWC] Condoxy
£2.10 GBP
25th Oct
[TWC] UnicOtter
€6.50 EUR
23rd Oct
Next »
Events
Online Members
[TWC] Grusey
Online now

[TWC] Hobbs
Online now

[TWC] Björn
37 minutes ago

[TWC] AngrySteve3
38 minutes ago

[TWC] Crow
38 minutes ago
Online Guests: 15
Time Zones

UK

21:59:53

US EST Time

17:59:53

UTC

22:59:53

[Question] Helvantis map
Forum » Information and Rules » Technical Difficulties and Solutions
Joined: 26th Oct 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 422
21st Feb 2015

Not sure if this is really a 'technical difficulty'.
It might be working entirely as intended.
Or it might just be me.
But...

Has anyone tried the Helvantis map yet? I just tried it the editor, and I'm finding the lighting/graphics very odd.

Everything seems incredibly washed out, bleached out, 'fizzy', call it what you will. It's like the brightness is artificially cranked way up. It's not so noticeable on buildings, but on all other terrain features everything seems to lose its detail and almost looks 2-dimensional.

I wasn't sure if maybe it was supposed to be snowey, but I don't think so. If it is supposed to be snowey, it doesn't really look anything like it. Then I thought maybe it was supposed to be really hot and arid, but it just looks weird.

I compared the same units (tried with a Challenger, and also just a plain rifleman) on Chernarus, and then also on Chapur and on Takistan, just to check if my graphics settings were globally borked somehow. But no, everything seems perfectly fine and business as usual on other maps.

It's just Helvantis that looks really weird (to me anyway)... the only way I could get it to look anything like, I dunno, realistic, was to turn my brightness ALL the way down, and also drop my gamma a couple of points.

Anyone else experienced this?

~TG


Everything is going to be fine in the end. If it's not fine it's not the end.
Oscar Wilde

Last Edit: 5th Mar 2015 by TwoGhosts
Joined: 1st Sep 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 480
21st Feb 2015

i have used the map a couple of times messing around in the editor. i think it looks lovely, it does look a bit bright but i think it looks fine. next time im playing around with it ill have a look!


Click continue
-Heaney

Joined: 12th Feb 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 1010
21st Feb 2015

Are you having any other graphical issues in any other games at the moment sounds very much like something on your end?

If you could provide screenshots as well so we could see what you are seeing that may help.


Gugliemo Cormacchio - Squid 18/02/16@20:01

Why do you drink milk ? It is meant to be consumed by one ton animals.

Because I want to be a one ton animal

DONT FORGET TO VOTE LOL....................

Last Edit: 21st Feb 2015 by Will
Joined: 13th Feb 2015
Rank: Public Player
Likes 81
21st Feb 2015

Played it last night with Dusty and BlackHammer and noticed the lighting on the terrain seems to be way higher than normal, doesn't seem to bother me much and is still a lovely map to use for an operation!


highty-tighty christ almighty who the hell are we?
zip-zam god damn we're airborne infantry!

Joined: 12th Feb 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 1010
21st Feb 2015

This is an issue with the Arma 3 Lighting Model. Arma 3 is set in the Mediterranean and as such has a lighting model suited best for sunny and bright environments. 

However Arma 2 on the other hand a different lighting model designed to deal with wet rainy condition's of east Europe and the black sea in the Caucasus region.

I am aware of mods that can change the lighting model but never looked into any of these before as it has never been a big issue. However many of you seem to have an issue with this so I shall look into adding mods that tweak lighting models when I have the chance.


Gugliemo Cormacchio - Squid 18/02/16@20:01

Why do you drink milk ? It is meant to be consumed by one ton animals.

Because I want to be a one ton animal

DONT FORGET TO VOTE LOL....................

Joined: 12th Feb 2014
Rank: Member
Likes 146
21st Feb 2015

Arma Pro Tip: Arma has a brightness slider. I set it down to around 0.7 and now it looks fine to me. The gamma makes no difference whatsoever to me at least.
Last Edit: 21st Feb 2015 by Alkali
Joined: 7th Mar 2014
Rank: Member
Likes 600
21st Feb 2015

I remember i had this issue on several A2 maps and changing hdr to normal fixed it for me.


Signature Picture

Anschluss: granny rape fantasy is my kink.

Forum » Information and Rules » Technical Difficulties and Solutions
Please login or register to reply.
Chat Box
[TWC] Aleyboy 17:39
Public tonight?
[TWC] Mr T 17th Nov
ts down?
[TWC] Björn 17th Nov
sign up for the op !
[TWC] Hobbs 17th Nov
nah some mods have tried it but they don't work out
[TWC] Lemon_Pizza 17th Nov
imma be real witchu chief - does arma support flamethrower mechanics? because that could be the best for WWII
[TWC] Hobbs 17th Nov
nah we obviously need a SMLE homebrew carbine first: https://www.thefirearmblo ... 4-151623-920x518.png
[TWC] Lemon_Pizza 16th Nov
paratrooper FAL to use in an OP when
[TWC] Mc_Jazza 16th Nov
Don't forget to vote!
[TWC] Hobbs 15th Nov
public starting
Joery 15th Nov
i wil go onn soon
[TWC] Crow 15th Nov
Public today?
[TWC] Björn 15th Nov
sign up for the OP !
[TWC] Crow 14th Nov
Nevermind, internets cutting out, apparently its been at it for hours
[TWC] Crow 14th Nov
Ill pop on if im early enough
Joery 14th Nov
i wil join soon , ferst a smoke :-)
[TWC] Hobbs 14th Nov
pub tonight
[TWC] Lemon_Pizza 13th Nov
Grusey was saved from being a medic
[TWC] Rik 13th Nov
Don't forget to sign up for the midweek operation. http://www.thewreckingcre ... nuthatch-zex#3903135
[TWC] Bosenator 13th Nov
Don't forget to vote.
Joery 12th Nov
i join now
Countdown
Operation CLAYMORE
5 Days, 20 Hours, 20 Minutes and 7 Seconds
Roster
Newest Players
Wilhem
4 days ago

Mathias
10th Nov

Jakep
9th Nov

Millien
3rd Nov

BrandonLees
30th Oct