Apply for Membership
Don't forget to vote!
Donate

Donate

Recent Donations
[TWC] Crow
£10.00 GBP
1 day ago
[TWC] Patty Evans
$5.00 USD
1 day ago
[TWC] Rik
€2.50 EUR
4 days ago
Dee
€0.90 EUR
27th May
[TWC] Raft
€5.00 EUR
27th May
Next »
Online Members
[TWC] Hobbs
23 minutes ago

[TWC] freez
24 minutes ago

[TWC] Timme
47 minutes ago
Online Guests: 13
Events
Time Zones

UK BST

09:32:43

US EST Time

04:32:43

UTC

10:32:43

[Question] Helvantis map
Forum » Information and Rules » Technical Difficulties and Solutions
Joined: 26th Oct 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 422
21st Feb 2015

Not sure if this is really a 'technical difficulty'.
It might be working entirely as intended.
Or it might just be me.
But...

Has anyone tried the Helvantis map yet? I just tried it the editor, and I'm finding the lighting/graphics very odd.

Everything seems incredibly washed out, bleached out, 'fizzy', call it what you will. It's like the brightness is artificially cranked way up. It's not so noticeable on buildings, but on all other terrain features everything seems to lose its detail and almost looks 2-dimensional.

I wasn't sure if maybe it was supposed to be snowey, but I don't think so. If it is supposed to be snowey, it doesn't really look anything like it. Then I thought maybe it was supposed to be really hot and arid, but it just looks weird.

I compared the same units (tried with a Challenger, and also just a plain rifleman) on Chernarus, and then also on Chapur and on Takistan, just to check if my graphics settings were globally borked somehow. But no, everything seems perfectly fine and business as usual on other maps.

It's just Helvantis that looks really weird (to me anyway)... the only way I could get it to look anything like, I dunno, realistic, was to turn my brightness ALL the way down, and also drop my gamma a couple of points.

Anyone else experienced this?

~TG


Everything is going to be fine in the end. If it's not fine it's not the end.
Oscar Wilde

Last Edit: 5th Mar 2015 by TwoGhosts
Joined: 1st Sep 2013
Rank: Public Player
Likes 480
21st Feb 2015

i have used the map a couple of times messing around in the editor. i think it looks lovely, it does look a bit bright but i think it looks fine. next time im playing around with it ill have a look!


Click continue
-Heaney

Joined: 12th Feb 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 1010
21st Feb 2015

Are you having any other graphical issues in any other games at the moment sounds very much like something on your end?

If you could provide screenshots as well so we could see what you are seeing that may help.


Gugliemo Cormacchio - Squid 18/02/16@20:01

Why do you drink milk ? It is meant to be consumed by one ton animals.

Because I want to be a one ton animal

DONT FORGET TO VOTE LOL....................

Last Edit: 21st Feb 2015 by Will
Joined: 13th Feb 2015
Rank: Public Player
Likes 81
21st Feb 2015

Played it last night with Dusty and BlackHammer and noticed the lighting on the terrain seems to be way higher than normal, doesn't seem to bother me much and is still a lovely map to use for an operation!


highty-tighty christ almighty who the hell are we?
zip-zam god damn we're airborne infantry!

Joined: 12th Feb 2014
Rank: Public Player
Likes 1010
21st Feb 2015

This is an issue with the Arma 3 Lighting Model. Arma 3 is set in the Mediterranean and as such has a lighting model suited best for sunny and bright environments. 

However Arma 2 on the other hand a different lighting model designed to deal with wet rainy condition's of east Europe and the black sea in the Caucasus region.

I am aware of mods that can change the lighting model but never looked into any of these before as it has never been a big issue. However many of you seem to have an issue with this so I shall look into adding mods that tweak lighting models when I have the chance.


Gugliemo Cormacchio - Squid 18/02/16@20:01

Why do you drink milk ? It is meant to be consumed by one ton animals.

Because I want to be a one ton animal

DONT FORGET TO VOTE LOL....................

Joined: 12th Feb 2014
Rank: Member
Likes 142
21st Feb 2015

Arma Pro Tip: Arma has a brightness slider. I set it down to around 0.7 and now it looks fine to me. The gamma makes no difference whatsoever to me at least.
Last Edit: 21st Feb 2015 by Alkali
Joined: 7th Mar 2014
Rank: Inactive Member
Likes 585
21st Feb 2015

I remember i had this issue on several A2 maps and changing hdr to normal fixed it for me.


Signature Picture

Anschluss: granny rape fantasy is my kink.

Forum » Information and Rules » Technical Difficulties and Solutions
Please login or register to reply.
Chat Box
Condoxy 20:36
anyone about for public
[TWC] Hobbs 19:30
public starting
[TWC] Mc_Jazza 17th Jun
oooooooooo, a banner!
[TWC] freez 16th Jun
Maybe be 5 min late
[TWC] Rik 16th Jun
If you sign up as commander now, you can still submit a cool flag
[TWC] Bosenator 16th Jun
Appalling too.
[TWC] Bosenator 16th Jun
It's worth voting too. Appauling number today.
[TWC] Harry 16th Jun
but not worth the price so recommend getting it while it is free
[TWC] Harry 16th Jun
good game
[TWC] Harry 16th Jun
shame i paid for it
[TWC] Ghostie3k 16th Jun
For anyone intrested, For Honor is given out for free on Uplay right now during E3.
Spicy 16th Jun
Ok
[TWC] Rik 16th Jun
If you need any help feel free to pop on ts Make sure you get them mods installed in time!
Spicy 16th Jun
Thanks!
[TWC] Rik 16th Jun
Hey Spciy, you don't really need the training for tonight, since we're doing an armoured op, feel free to sign up on the rolesheet :
Spicy 16th Jun
Hello. can anyone maybe do my bct before the operation perhaps?
[TWC] Mc_Jazza 15th Jun
Will be on a bit later myself
Theo Papas 15th Jun
*Condoxy
Theo Papas 15th Jun
me and Condozy in public rn if anyone wants to join
Countdown
Operation DYNAMO
5 Days, 8 Hours, 47 Minutes and 17 Seconds
Roster
Newest Players
wumkin
15 hours ago

Dew
1 day ago

Meteorwolf
2 days ago

Dr. Kompakt
3 days ago

alpha
5 days ago